Born 1937

A group of Dade County Chiefs formed a corporation to what is now known as the Miami Dade County Association of Chiefs of Police.

The original 20 members set up their guidelines and recommendations for the positive furtherance of policing in Dade County.

Our Dade Chief's "founding fathers" had the foresight to set up the association in a manner that was fair, unbiased and with the intent of a long lasting entity. While creating the bylaws of the organization they realized that to have a cohesive transformation of leadership a series of chairs was needed.

There would be a president, vice president, secretary and treasurer. To maintain a viable transition they decided to only elect a treasurer each year and have that person move up the chairs eventually becoming president.

This allowed the new treasurer to serve for three years before assuming the role of president. When the new president takes office he succeeds the former president and all the chairs move up one position.

By doing this and with the addition of one more restriction they assured that no one person could dominate the organization with repeated terms as president.

In addition they decided that no two members of the same agency could sit as board members at the same time.

With their determination and creation of this positive organization we have now grown from the original twenty members to over five hundred members.